Word of the Year

Imágenes-de-año-nuevo-para-WhatsApp

If you are ready or not, it is 2016!  So are you ready?  Do you have a plan this year?  A theme?  Every year, my friend Mary posts on Facebook what her “Word of the Year” will be and requests others to do the same.  Kim and I like to do this too.  Some years are more successful than others.  But we do like to share with each other our words as we like to help keep each other accountable.  Last year I chose “SIMPLIFY” as my word.  In many ways, I think I failed with this word.  However, it really isn’t a pass/fail type of exercise.  I honestly believe that my word was a reminder from God.  I needed to look at each project, time commitment and such and measure it against my goals and his purpose for me.  In January of last year, I had no idea what changes would be coming in 2015 but God certainly did.  Had I not simplified a few things, it could have been so much uglier than it was.  Yes, my life became more busy in some ways as we decided to have the girls in three different schools (co-teaching two days a week at home) and start this blog, but it also allowed me some precious time with my gymnast daughter that I was missing previously.

So what is my word this year?  Drumroll please….

 

RESPONSIVE

 

Say what?  Responsive!  That’s right, I want to be responsive this year.  I want to be a doer of the Word not just a hearer of the Word.  When I feel the Holy Spirit whispering or even screaming at me, I want to be responsive to what I’m being told and shown.  This is definitely an area of my life that needs some work.  As much as I needed to simplify last year, this year, I need to listen and respond.  Have you ever heard something or read a Facebook status and respond with, “I’ll pray for you/her/them/it?”  I know I say it, but I don’t always do it.  It has become a rote answer at times.  But this year,  I’m going to make it my goal to always pray when I say I’m going to pray.  I’m going to be responsive in that area of my life.

Do you have a word for 2016?  I encourage you to take some time and pray about a word for your year.  And if you do, can you leave that word in the comments below with your name?  I will pray for you this year and I mean that.  I’m starting a new prayer journal and you and your word will go in it.  I bet I can get Kim to hold me accountable too!

I’m already praying that you are encouraged in 2016 no matter where you start the year and where you end up in 2016.  Remember that you are never alone!

I’m closing this post with a few verses from James.  Happy New Year!

angeline3

James 1:22-25 The Message (MSG)

22-24 Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like.

25 But whoever catches a glimpse of the revealed counsel of God—the free life!—even out of the corner of his eye, and sticks with it, is no distracted scatterbrain but a man or woman of action. That person will find delight and affirmation in the action.

One thought on “Word of the Year

  1. Kim says:

    I’m gonna go with JOY this year. I really don’t want to get upset about the little things (or the big things for that matter). There is always JOY in the Lord no matter what. I want my boys to see that instead of an aggravated momma. Besides….JOY is contagious and people can’t help but notice when you have it. All the better to witness to those around me.
    Philippians 4:4 “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

