It’s fall, y’all!

Oh happy day!  It was a bit cooler this morning at the bus stop waiting with my kindergartner.  She told me that she may need to stop wearing shorts to school.  I told her to wait until recess later today to make that call.  We live in Texas, after all.  October is actually my favorite month of the year.  It is full of the best memories for me.  Nothing beats October in Chicago…beautiful weather, leaves changing, football (my family bleeds orange blue for the Fighting Illini), apple festivals and so much more.  Steve and I started dating in late August of 1998 and by October we were in the fabulous sweet spot of dating.  That point where you know you really like each other but you are still only showing your best qualities.  Literally everything he said or did was perfect in my eyes.  And let’s be honest, he was still trying to impress me.  We hadn’t moved into the “let’s just run to home depot and grab a movie to watch” phase of dating.  It was divine.  And as October in Chicago as the backdrop, it’s no wonder that by the following October we were only a month away from our wedding date.  So what if he was living across the world in Australia that October…it was still perfect.

But October in Texas takes a bit more work to enjoy.  Don’t get me wrong, I love it here.  I love that I’m still wearing my shorts and t-shirt to the bus stop and not my robe over my flannel pj pants (Oh yes, I do).  But it’s still hot and the only orange-ish leaves are the ones on the plant that I apparently killed on my front porch (sorry Daphne who gave me the plant and reads this blog!).  So I have to work a bit harder to manifest the Autumn feeling here.

Step 1.  Buy and light Bath and Body Works Pumpkin Candles.  I covered that subject in this post.  By the way, both Kim and I had forwarded an email from Bath and Body Works to each other the other morning for a free candle before we realized it.  We clearly speak the same love language.

Step 2.  Visit Hobby Lobby or Michaels and buy fake pumpkins (real ones will rot quickly here!) and then let your kids decorate them.  In this case, two of my girls added blingy stickers.  However, the rhinestones are having a hard time sticking to the black pumpkin.  There may be a hot glue gun project in my weekend plans.

IMG_0568
Step 3.  Bake these pumpkin cookies.  Listen, it’s too hot here for chili and soup but pumpkin cookies?  Yes please!  If you like pumpkin anything, you must make these cookies.  I’m going to say these are my favorite cookies to bake (my favorite to eat are still good ole chocolate chip) and in my top three to eat.  I’m posting the original recipe from the taste of home website.  However, I make my own substitutions like semi-sweet chocolate chips.  If you don’t have pumpkin pie spice on hand…just make your own like the beloved Pioneer Woman!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe

prep 10 min ∙ cook 15 min ∙ makes 48 ∙ source Tasteofhome.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1-1/2 cups white chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

In a bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Combine the flour, oats, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon; stir into creamed mixture alternately with pumpkin. Fold in chocolate chips.

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto greased baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 12-13 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to cool. Yield: 4 dozen.

NUTRITIONAL INFO

Nutritional Facts 2 cookies equals 112 calories, 6 g fat (3 g saturated fat), 15 mg cholesterol, 68 mg sodium, 15 g carbohydrate, 1 g fiber, 1 g protein.

Happy Fall, Y’all!  I’ll be back next week to blog about surviving a job change (with or without a move!).

angeline3

Leave a Reply

