Give a little thanks

I love giving thank you gifts.  I think it’s my Southern nature.  But it’s just fun to think of different ways to say thank you than the boring old note or gift card.  I’m not saying those are bad (my southern manners say it’s a must), but it’s just fun to see the recipient’s face when it’s totally unexpected happiness.

My neighbor watched my kids an entire day recently.  I wanted to say thanks even though she didn’t expect it at all.  But I wanted something fun and useful for her.  She’s a busy mom with 4 boys and works out of her home.  I decided making her dinner was the winner.  However, with her busy schedule I didn’t know when she would need it.  So….I found this cool idea from The Kitchn….A TACO BOX!  Who doesn’t love tacos??  Here’s my version.
tacobox2Not quite as cute as The Kitchn’s version but it’s still fun.  I found the cute crate at Michaels for $6 (using coupon).  I filled it with chicken carnita, corn tortillas, my favorite pico de gallo, my fav black beans, cheese, an avocado, chips and root beer.  I also included a Dairy Queen giftcard because what goes better with tacos than ice cream?  All of it can be used immediately or wait a day or two.  And speaking of tacos, I saw this shirt at Target this week and it made my 10 yr old crack up laughing.
tacocatHere’s some more cute things I have found on Pinterest and some I have used in the past:

Movie Night at Home
movie night
You can buy these popcorn tubs at the dollar store.  You can also purchase RedBox credits online at RedBox.com.  Here’s my cute free printable for a RedBox giftcard
redboxgiftcard
Sunshine Box from Fantabulosity
box of sunshine

Here’s a fabulous summertime thank you:  Strawberry Shortcake Basket from Eighteen25:
strawberryshortcake
Ice cream Basket from Love The Day:
ice cream
Fun girlfriend thank you from Tidbits & Twine:
fun basket
And if you are super crafty, I loved this idea from All Things with Purpose.  It’s meant for a realtor (great idea!) but think of the possibilities!
cutting board

Stay tuned….once school gets started I have a TON of ideas for teacher “happies”.  Like I said, I love to say thank you!

kim4

2 thoughts on “Give a little thanks

Leave a Reply

